Selected artists for Boda Boda Lounge Project 2016


aria (artist residency in algiers) together with our partner Espace d’art contemporain – Espaco and Boda Boda Lounge host venues across Africa are thrilled to announce the list of selected artists who will screen their works  in 16 cities of the African continent between 18 and 20 November 2016.

List of artists selected through the open call:
Atef Berredjem (Algérie), Awuor Onyango (Kenya), Bofa da Cara, Boitumelo Motau (Afrique du Sud), Cameron Platter (Afrique du Sud), Christopher Wessels (Afrique du Sud), Ezra Wube (Ethiopie), Francois Knoetze (Afrique du Sud), Gustave Fundi Mwamba (RDC), Jeremiah Ikongio (Nigéria), Junior Nyembwe (DRC), Kula Chopeto (Afrique du Sud), Lydia Ourahmane (Algérie), Maurice Mbikayi (RDC), Mulugeta Gebrekidan (Ethiopie), Ngassam Tchatchoua Yvon Léolein (Cameroun), Ori Huchi Kozia (République du Congo), Paulo Azevedo (Angola), Simnikiwe Buhlungu (Afrique du Sud), Simohammed Fettaka (Maroc), Sisipho Mase (Afrique du Sud), Sofiane Zouggar (Algérie), Teboho Gilbert Letele (Afrique du Sud), Ubulungiswa Justice Collaboration (Afrique du Sud), Vincent Bezuidenhout & Nobushinge Kono (Afrique du Sud & Japon), Salooni (Uganda), Wiame Haddad (Maroc/Tunisie).

Boda Boda Lounge Project invites artists to transcend borders. The second bi-annual Boda Boda Lounge is a cross-continental video art project that practices creating an Africa without borders. It is hosted by 15 different arts organisations across the continent from 18 – 20 November. The project invites African video artists, enthusiasts and radical dreamers to experience the audio visual musings of 30 artists coming from 11 different countries on the continent.

The theme of this year’s project, SuperPosition, an archaeology of the present, invited participating artists to dare a different reading of space and to imagine alternative channels of fluxes, crossings and entangling of energies and meaning.

The Boda Boda Lounge Project is a collaborative project between VANSA (South Africa), Waza (Congo DRC) and VAN Lagos (Nigeria).